World Lupus Day

It has been a while since I posted anything on this blog. I debated wether to share or not. I decided to use my voice and experience to share for awareness purposes only. Lupus is a serious condition that can be extremely debilitating. It is an autoimmune disease that affects the skin, joints and kidneys. It is most common in females and there is no cure. I am presenting just a little of my experience with Lupus. It can take years to be diagnosed. For years I’ve wondered why am I so fatigued. Why do I feel so bad. I was told “Oh you are just Anemic, take some iron I took iron for years with no relief. I was called lazy and sickly as I always felt tired and looked tired. I was not just tired but at time I just had no energy at all. It affected family life and many times, my work.

Since 2007, several autoimmune conditions have come my way: Hypothyroidism, Hashimotos Thyroiditis, ITP, Reynauds, UCTD, G6PD ( Hemolytic Anemia) Rheumatoid Arthritis, and Osteoporosis. As if that was not enough: boom! In stepped Lupus. It hit me like a ton of bricks, but I was glad to have a seemingly definitive answer. This diagnosis was figured out only after me loosing my hair Sept of 2019. One doctor, my endocrinologist dismissed my hair falling in clumps, as just age. Thank goodness my rheumatologist was more thorough in his assessment.

It has not been an easy road but I continue to try my best to push forward. So I say all that to say.. Let’s spread awareness so its not such a fight for us. Many of us struggle to get the help we need. We are denied so many things when our health fails us the most. If my share can help in some small way..then it is worth the scrutiny.

Leave a comment